A New Path

There is a building I pass by every morning on my way to work. There’s nothing special about this building at first glance. There’s a Chinese restaurant on the first floor and a couple of offices on the second. But a few months ago I climbed the stairs to the third floor and walked into a gym.

a Brazilian Jiu Jitsu gym.

From the first lesson I was hooked. We did some basic exercises and drilled a few moves. After an hour of practice I watched the other members spar. Here was a place I could challenge myself both physically and mentally.

The second lesson I cracked my tooth. I still have a lot to learn about proper posture to protect myself from injury.

By the third lesson I was sparring. I had marked out a blue belt who I wanted to spar with sometime in the future. I got to spar with him the next session.

In my fifth lesson I met a purple belt from Australia who trained with me a bit and has since taken me under his wing.

A few nights ago in my sixth lesson I submitted a few people but I was especially proud of the two times I used moves I had learned in class.

This is just the beginning of my journey with judo but I can tell it’s going to be a great source of self growth for me and I’m looking forward to continuing down my new path.

Leave a Reply

